It is always important to know when something has reached its end. Closing circles, shutting doors, finishing chapters, it doesn’t matter what we call it; what matters is to leave in the past those moments in life that are over.”
~
The Zahir by Paulo Coelho

This is an important lesson – to “know” when things are over and then to not cling onto them even though they are over. Some people are very good at this and some people aren’t. I think I sit somewhere in the middle. There are some things that I am easily able to leave in the past – like high school for example. There are some people who seem to have great difficulty letting go of their high school years. Some people carry it for the rest of their lives – trying to relive, or somehow recapture, that experience of being young, of having no responsibilities. Often it is the “I just want to have fun” person. Don’t get me wrong – I’m all for enjoying life and inviting happiness and fun into it – but not in the context of trying to relive past experiences. Those days/times/experiences are gone. I’d rather be about the business of creating new experiences that are fun, and create happiness and that stimulate my senses and my interests.

 

I think where I tend to get a little clingy is with people. There are some people that I am loathe to let go at times, and it is because there was a time when it was “time” to be with that person (and I’m talking friendships here, not romantic liaisons). I think it is more difficult for me to acknowledge that people do change and that often we do grow apart from people. Our lives simple move in different directions and perhaps it is a sign of maturity to acknowledge that this is a part of our life’s journey and therefore to cultivate the wisdom of understanding when the time for something – a friendship – has reached its conclusion.

 

I will say that under my better half’s tutelage, I have grown wiser in this respect. Her terminology for it was “knowing when to cut the threads” because if you don’t, then you may inadvertently get entangled in the uncut threads and in a situation that is no longer healthy or right for you.

 

I selected the photo that I did because the dark hues speak to me of endings – and in this instance, by acknowledging that an ending is necessary, it can be a beautiful experience that leaves one wiser in spirit.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

