TIME CAPSULE

In an effort to try and jumpstart my poor, withering blog, I have signed up with Jamie Ridler’s “Kickin’ It Old Skool Blog-a-thon”.  So yesterday, December 1st, was “Day 1” and thus, the psychedelic “selfie”.  Today, Day 2, is a series of prompts and here I go –

 

1. What Am I Reading?

I am currently reading “The Wisdom of Compassion” by the Dalai Lama.

 

2. What Am I Watching?

Right now – a lot of Christmas specials. Christmas seems like a vague concept this year and with Thanksgiving now in the rear view mirror, it is going to be here and gone in an instant. I’m trying to generate some sense of Christmas spirit in the few weeks remaining.

 

3. What Am I Listening To?

I’ve just started to listen to some Christmas music. This year I find that I am preferring the old standards and not the newer music.

 

4. What Am I Loving?

Always and forever, my better half. And my flutes, and our recent “gentle” shopping trips, and quiet time, and simply the abundance in our lives right now.

 

5. What Am I Wearing?

Plaid. I seem to be on a plaid kick this year, much to my sweetie’s dismay.

 

6. What Am I Creating?

Well, I’m in my final week of working on someone else’s art journal – part of an ongoing journal swap that started back in October. I’ve got to do at least a few more pages in it before I mail it out and then my own precious journal will return to me, filled with wonderful new artwork done by the swap participants. It’s always the most exciting part – getting your own journal back and seeing what treasures others have created for you!

 

7. What Am I Looking Forward To?

Christmas for one thing, and the two week break that will come with it. Finishing budget season here at the school (or at least the worst part of it). Hoping that my sweetie get’s her medical paraphernalia removed in January (she can’t take much more of it). Planning a real honeymoon with L (we got married quickly last year due to a medical emergency). Celebrating my first wedding anniversary in February.

 

And that’s it for today.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to TIME CAPSULE

  1. Donna says:

    I love your selfie – very colorful! I have always liked plaid – there is something cozy and manly about it. I look forward to getting to know you better this month.

  2. Sunfire says:

    When you work in retail, the Christmas spirit is sort of thrust upon you. And so while you are looking for it, I am trying to hide from it.
    Loving the abundance of life is a good thing. My other half and I are finally in that place after many years. It feels good!
    My first wedding anniversary is Feb 4th, and we are talking about a nice getaway (like a delayed honeymoon), too. Make it special!
    Nice to be tagging along on the KIOS blogathon.

  3. dawnsrays says:

    Read that book, loved it.
    Great self portrait yesterday-loads of fun as I am sure you are.
    Plaid is a great color, lol and it helps set the tone for this festive time of year (its better than the ugly holiday sweater, anyway).
    Have a great day!
    Peace~
    Dawn

  4. Sherry Smyth says:

    Plaid! I love plaid…have since I was a little girl…and not just at the holidays! 🙂

  5. Helen says:

    I love learning about creative pursuits, and new to me is the concept of journal swapping. I love that idea! And, gentle shopping trips? That might just be the best way to shop in the crazed holiday season.

  6. Tery says:

    Love the Dalai Lama and Art Journals!

  7. dishonfj says:

    Love the Christmas theme, especially the Christmas music, whilst an art journal swap sounds interesting.

  8. I totally hear you on the vagueness of Christmas. it will be different than ever before, won’t it? We’re still finding our way to experience it this year. Christmas specials and music sound just right.

Leave a Reply

