KICKIN’ IT OLD SKOOL BLOG-A-THON – Day 5

First – a thank you is in order to Jamie Ridler of Jamie Ridler Studios and “Planet Shannon” for hosting this whole blog-a-thon concept! My blog would be a much emptier space without your inspiration!

Tell Us 10 Things About You

(Or, It’s All About Me!!)

1. I collect and play native American flutes, but I am not native American. (is that two things?)

2. I am an ordained minister of the Universal Brotherhood Movement  (no, I am not a cult leader)

3. I am a lifelong science fiction & fantasy fan and feel like I’m watching things once written about come true now.

4. “A Christmas Carol” by Charles Dickens is one of my all-time favorite books/movies and I probably own at least 10 different movie versions. My favorite movie version is the Albert Finney musical.

5. I once went on my own vision quest where I fasted (no food or water) for 4 days and 3 nights

6. I attained the incredibly low-level ranking of a green belt in an Okinawan form of karate called uechi-ryu and learned that I am just not very flexible (physically anyhow)

7. I traveled to London in the mid-1990s with my mother and sister and had one of the most incredible times of my life.

8. I once owned a blue parakeet named Pierre

9. I own more blank journals than I can shake a stick at (although why I would want to shake a stick at them is beyond me). Still it wouldn’t hurt to actually write in one every now and then but I suffer from blank page syndrome.  I can’t spoil a blank page unless I have the absolute perfect thing to say.

10. I was a terrible doodler in school. Most of my pathetic images were simply geometric shapes and my figures were, and are, stick figures.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to KICKIN’ IT OLD SKOOL BLOG-A-THON – Day 5

  1. Janet Miles says:

    Love A Christmas Carol too! The Albert Finney one is also one of my most favorites but I have come to love A Muppet Christmas Carol too! I totally feel you about the blank journals. I have a problem if I make a mistake or don’t like my handwriting that particular day!

  2. I’m so fascinated by your vision quest! Have you ever written a blog post about that?

    • nowandzenn says:

      Heather – Not so much a blog post, but I journaled about it extensively. Indeed, the whole process encompassed several years and three vision quests (two of which were more like aborted attempts but in fact were all part of the process leading up to the one that mattered).

  3. Kristina says:

    I feel you on the blank page syndrome. I doodle too, just mostly comets.

  4. paleololigo says:

    I never realized that any of my teachers noticed that I tend to doodle too. Until I got my Ph.D. and my advisor announced loudly to my parents that their child always sits in the front row in class and draws pictures of horses!

    Oops.

    Nice to meet you!

    • nowandzenn says:

      That’s great! Most of my college studies involved night school (for about 14 years) and there was many a night when I’d hit that 6:30 PM zone and the eyes would start to flutter. I fear the image my professors had of me was of someone struggling to stay awake. That being said, it all worked out the way it was meant to. Nice meeting you too!

Leave a Reply

