FIRSTS

“Here’s to many more firsts and many more great memories.”

Christine Feehan,     Water Bound

 

Day 20: My First … (the Meme Edition)

First Job:

My first job was working for my dad at a drycleaning store. He didn’t own that particular store and I was all of about six or seven years old. My job was to put cardboard pant guards on wire hangers. I think I got a nickel for each batch of however many I completed. Dad later went on to own several of his own stores, where I worked, off and on, for many years.

First thing to my left:

A new CD I just purchased – One Thursday Morning in June. It is a native flute music CD created by Geri Littlejohn and it is wonderful.

Something I remember about 1st grade:

My teacher was very tall (or maybe I was just a tad short at that point in my life)

First book I ever read:

That’s a tough one. I guess it might be a school book, maybe something like “Dick & Jane”? I’d say one of the earliest books that “stuck” with me was probably the Wizard of Oz, although admittedly I find that Baum’s books always have a kind of scary element to them, especially for children.

The first thing I do in the morning:

Pretty much head straight for the shower. Shower – shave – blow dry hair – dress – out in thirty minutes or less.

First food I knew I didn’t like:

Again, another hard one as there are a lot of foods I don’t like. In general, I can say I am not a condiments person and mustard is my absolute “will not eat” food so maybe mustard. It actually makes me gag and always has.

My first memory:

Probably just living in Littleton with my parents when I was about 3ish to 4. I only have snippets – watching the 3 Stooges on television, seeing my younger brother tied to a tree in a harness (so he wouldn’t escape – he was a toddler at that point), and maybe the time the window fell on my pinky finger – the windows back then had weights and ropes and were quite heavy. Amazingly, I don’t think it broke my finger, but it hurt like heck.

I guess that’s it. Nothing really earth-shattering here today, but at least I can say I showed up.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to FIRSTS

  1. Helen says:

    Thanks for sharing these! These memes are quite an interesting little set of windows into others’ lives…

  2. Your first job makes me smile in delight – I’ll look at those pant guard tube things with a new appreciation. And while I suspect I don’t dislike condiments as strongly as you do, I totally shake my head remembering there was a time in my childhood when I literally LOVED sandwiches which were nothing more than bread with French’s mustard spread on it. Nothing else would do. Kind of makes my stomach hurt now just thinking about it.

  3. Alex Hickey says:

    I really enjoyed this post! Your first job memory had me thinking of helping friends of ours who ran I business when I was 6 or 7. There were three of us kids who worked together and we’d have a lot of fun. We used to stuff envelopes and polish silver (they were auctioneers). We didn’t get paid, but we’d usually get taken out to Swiss Chalet for supper. Good times.

Leave a Reply

