CHRISTMAS TRADITIONS

“Just because something is traditional is no reason to do it, of course.”  

Lemony SnicketThe Blank Book    

Image

Laureen and I have evolved our Christmas traditions throughout the years. I think our most basic “tradition” is that our holiday has always been centered in love and gratitude and sharing. Now I admit, I do have a tendency to go overboard when it comes to Laureen. I usually buy her far more gifts than she wants, but it is not about the gifts at all. It is about showing her the various facets of my love and inspiring her to follow her dreams and goals. Laureen, in her turn, does the same for me. And it does help that we have rather simple needs and similar interests – primarily in books and music and anything art-related. Laureen is an artist extraordinaire and the only thing that has ever really held her back in this life is herself. So I am always giving her books and music and calendars and magazines that will inspire her confidence and her creativity and hopefully to dare to reach for her dreams. Oh, and there are clothes and shoes and all the other trappings befitting a Princess of her stature.

The photograph above is a rather typical Christmas set-up for us. When we finally do get a chance to sit down and open our gifts, we do so one at a time and share the joy and love that each gift represents. Generally it can take us the better part of a day to open all of our gifts, often with several breaks inbetween for food, drink, or whatever. Laureen has given me such a great gift in participating in this tradition with me, and helping us to co-create it in a way that felt comfortable and right for us. I will always, always carry this with me.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to CHRISTMAS TRADITIONS

  1. Suzie Ridler says:

    I think it’s wonderful you give so much to her, to support her dreams. That is beautiful.

  2. Sounds like a really great way to spend the day. Really inspired by this. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

