2013

KIOS: Here on our final Friday of the year, let’s share a little bit about the year that was 2013

Okay, so I’m trying to hang in there until the end with this Blog-a-thon. Only one more week to go. I think I would have been far too apathetic to write had this not been going on and it may be one of the most important periods in my life to be writing –

So herewith, a prompted review of 2013:

 
1. What will you remember about 2013?
Struggle. Struggle, loss and pain. Two happy moments in between – My wedding day on February 7, 2013 with a very sick bride (she caught a severe cold from me – I didn’t think she was going to be able to make it to the JP’s house). And my wife’s birthday – July 12th – which we spent in Rockport. After three months of pure hell, I didn’t think she’d even be able to do it, but she did and it is a pure, and happy memory.
 
2. What are you ready to leave behind?
I only wish it were that simple. The hardest part of our road is still in front of us.
 
3. What’s something you learned in 2013?
That I do have it within me to be a caregiver (I was scared to death that I was going to fail in this critical role)
To always stay centered in love as a source of strength and compassion.
That we are not alone.
 
4. What would you like to celebrate about this past year?
That we survived and that it made us stronger. And the power of family and friends to provide love and support.
 
I think that’s all I can really muster at this point.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 2013

  1. Janet Miles says:

    I am glad you wrote and you will be glad too. I often wonder about the caregiver part myself. Being a mom, I have of course taken care of the kids in their various colds, etc., and my hubby has had his share of bad things too between chronic ulcers that got him down to 138 pounds and landed him in the hospital twice for stomach surgeries and his back issues which have plagued him off and on for the last 4 years, but none of these things have been as serious or debilitating as what you are going through. I am glad found out you could handle it, but sad that you had to find it out so soon.

  2. paleololigo says:

    No doubt the coming days, weeks, and months will be difficult for you. It is good that you know you can be the caregiver that you need to be.

    I’m glad to hear that this last year has had some very positive and happy moments for you as well.

    May 2014 be a year full of joy for you. Sending love and light your way!

  3. Alex Hickey says:

    My heart goes out to you, John. It sounds like you are in a very difficult struggle and I’m so glad that you can see and treasure the beautiful and joyful moments in all the darkness. I wish you as much of that as possible in the year ahead.

  4. TinkNL says:

    I’m feeling humbled reading this… What am I complaining about just money problems…?
    I wish you and your wife all the best that’s possible!

Leave a Reply

