ON LOVE

Our own life has to be our message.
~

Thich Nhat Hanh

Image

 

It would be easy to wallow in sadness and grief and self-pity. I do not want to do that. Laureen and I have so much to celebrate in what we have created for ourselves during the twelve years that we have been together. This little image above really hits the hi-lights of our achievement – Love & Joy, Friendship & Happiness, Gratitude and Peace – and yes, Freedom too. It’s not that our relationship has been free of bumps along the way – we have definitely had them. But for both of us, the rock-solid foundation of our relationship has always been our love for each other and so no matter what we each went through, we always came back to that center and it kept us grounded and focused on what we really wanted, and got us through some pretty difficult times.

 

Acknowledging all of this, I rejoice at what we have accomplished. At the same time, I do grieve deeply and feel a heart sadness that I cannot fully express, at what this most recent turn in our lives will mean for us. I am also still in disbelief that this is actually what is going to happen to us. But I also acknowledge that this is all a part of life and no ones’ time here comes with any guarantees as to how long it will be. I honestly don’t know how I am going to move forward in my life without her beside me. But I do know that I don’t want to disappear into a black hole of despair and so, while I will allow myself time to grieve and to be sad, I will also try to stay true to the values that Laureen and I hold so dearly. I will strive, as we have always done, to be loving and kind, with a compassionate heart, to all those who come into our lives.

 

And just as Laureen’s life has always been about this message, so too, will I continue our journey in the same fashion and with the same intention.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ON LOVE

  1. What a beautiful post. I cannot begin to imagine what it must feel like to be in your position, but I commend you for having the courage to talk about it publicly. We all share a commonality in that we are here on earth for a finite amount of time, and I believe it helps us immensely to share our stories of both triumph and of sadness – it helps us see that we are all alike in some ways. Sending you all of the positive vibes I can muster…

    • John says:

      Thank you, Sarah! I know that we are but one of many, many people and families who find themselves in similar situations. We just never expected to become one of “them”. Thank you for the positive vibes!

Leave a Reply

